Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

blue2

This is one of those words I struggle with, balance – is there really such a thing? I have one of those minds that is constantly on, dreaming, wondering, thinking… But with summer and the silly season approaching (can you believe there is only 6 weeks til Christmas?) I really want to find a little more balance in my life. Does anyone else feel the same? Here are my 5 tips to achieving a little (if only a smidge) more balance;

::1 Laugh. Laughter really is the best medicine and I’m not talking about a smirk or a giggle, I’m talking an uncontrollable, can’t keep it in laugh. Laughter relaxes, puts you in a positive frame of mind and just makes you feel good. Surround yourself with people who make you laugh everyday.

::2 Let go. Probably one of the hardest things for all of us to do! I know for me, a huge part of who I am is my ability to juggle so many things. I take pride in being clean, organised, reliable and in control. But at the end of the day, who is asking that of us? It is ok to let go and not be everything to everyone.

::3 H2O. I believe water, on all levels, is good for the soul. A bath, a shower, a swim, a glass of water or even the beach. Water calms, relaxes, hydrates and refreshes in an instant. Making sure you get enough water is essential to your overall well-being.

::4 Read. For me, taking the time to read a book or magazine is me time, it is time that is just mine where I get to absorb information and think about other things. Reading and learning re-energizes me and makes me more rounded.

::5 Take a Walk. The importance of regular exercise has been drilled into all of us but I’m talking about just taking a walk around your block. Walking can clear one’s mind, allow one to think and put things in perspective. If you have a dog, I recommend taking them with you (trust me, you don’t want to be on the other end of muppet disappointment eyes).

Let me know your tips to achieving a more balanced life by leaving me a comment.

Signature

Image | CC for seekdarelove

