Tags

, , , , , ,

Magnolias

1 // 2

I have the fondness memories of markets. As a child my parents often took my brother and I to craft markets all across Melbourne. I remember we had our favourites, ones that had snacks and treats we loved and others that had more things for kids like puzzles, puppets, magic tricks, charm bracelets and beautifully handmade clothes for my cherished doll. Often we would meet my grandparents there and it would be complete, a family day out (it’s funny how things like this become the memories you cherish).

Not surprising, my brother and I still attend markets. My brother tends to like the farmers’ markets, with all the fresh produce on offer and I still crave a craft market. Markets, like everything, have evolved but I feel the principles have remained the same, talented and creative people sharing their handmade wares (or ideas). I buy things that I am instantly drawn to, liking that more often that not, things are one of a kind. Many of my treasured pieces are from markets – a rustic white kitchen block bench, beautifully illustrated art, charming jewellery, a bird bath and handpainted Christmas decorations. The thing I love most about markets is they allow you to see, feel and understand someone’s passion and vision, meet the maker and every purchase directly supports and encorages more creativity.

One of my favourite markets, is the charming Magnolia Square pop-up market. Held over 2-3 days, here in Melbourne. Magnolia Square puts a modern twist on markets and showcases everything from design, art and craft. The exhibit includes (but is not limited to) everything from jewellery, women’s clothing, bags, home wares, children’s wear, children’s decor, food, paper products, furniture & lighting to giftware. Bringing the customer originality, quality and good design are key to the ongoing success of Magnolia Square. The next market is to be held this Friday to Sunday, at Malvern Town Hall just in time for Mother’s Day (details can be found here)!

Here are a few of my personal finds from Magnolia Square (told you the talent is amazing)…

Print

Help me create a ‘Markets Near & Far’ list, tell me your favourite market, where it is, what it is known for (ie what it sells/category) and why you l♥ve it by adding a comment below.

Signature

Credit Images: CC for seekdarelove

