Tags

, , , , ,

yogaSaladice cubes

Confession time, over the last 6 months I have been a bit slack with my general health – going to the gym less, eating more comfort foods and indulging in a few more drinks here and there. This has left me feeling guilty and sluggish. Can anyone relate?

So I’ve decided it’s overhaul time! In the past, when I have felt this way I have started a very strict diet and exercise regime, which are both time consuming and restrictive (although if you can stick with it, they do yield fabulous results). This time I’m going to take a simpler approach and go back to basics, I want to focus on creating better habits. ‘They’ (experts), say it takes on average two months to form a habit. So, I’m going to commit to three months of making better choices. This is what I’m going to focus on…

List

To assist me I’ve decided to keep a food journal. There are tonnes of really useful online tools for tracking food and excercise, many are free for download (I like myfitnesspal) or if you happy to pay for something with a few extras, like tips + recipe builders (weightwatchers is great value). Remember, there is always a pen and notebook. Writing it down is just as useful and helpful, tracking is really to make you accountable and aware of what you are eating and doing.

I also find having a mantra for motivation helpful, something that encourages you to keep going when you don’t really want to (we all have days like this). Mine is ‘Whatever it takes.’ I’ll repeat this to myself whenever I’m getting tired and just want to run for those few more minutes or do a few more reps.

We are

Does anyone else have some habits they want to create? I would love to hear them. I will check in every 4 weeks and update you on my progress.
Signature

Credit Images 1 // 2 // 3 // 4 // 5

