Tags

,

Ever since Borders shut its doors here in Australia, I have missed perusing the shelves of a large bookstore to see what treasures I can find. I love books, as far as I can remember I always have. There is something quite magical about the written word, new and old, that can teach you, guide you, transform you to almost anywhere…well at least while you are reading. I can get so engrossed in a book that I will take it everywhere with me just so I can read one more page or paragraph (often the case when you have small children).

I love that there are so many different styles of books or personalities, collections of people’s imagination, crafts or abilities. There is nothing quite like picking up a book that you are instantly drawn to, flicking through it and carrying it with you throughout the rest of the store, as you know you must have it. This desire to touch tangible books led me to Dymocks on Collins Street, Melbourne with the following beautiful titles in tow. books

1 :: Quilt love is the first book by UK-based designer and quilt maker Cassandra Ellis. Cassandra gives you plenty of ideas from special ‘celebration’ quilts to table runners to patchwork poufs for all your left over bits of fabrics. With this book I will be adding quilt making to my list of things to try this year.

2 :: I was instantly drawn to this book (for its hand printing techniques) by Yvonne and Rebecca Drury, mother and daughter team from MissPrint. Printed Pattern provides easy to follow steps and techniques for the hand printing process – from using potatoes, stamps, stencils and screen printing on all types of mediums. They even kindly include stencils to inspire your own designs!

3 :: My mind is often all over the place with new ideas but after picking up this book I feel like my ideas have exploded. Heather Ross is an amazing artist/illustrator and in this book she provides multiple designs and projects to get you started on your own creative ‘print’ journey. Included is a DVD, thirty-two different designs on perforated paper for you to use and a step by step tutorial on how to design your own fabric or other reproducible artwork in Photoshop. SO happy I’m enrolled in a Photoshop class this weekend.

Credit Images – CC for seekdarelove

